Freiburg

We present:

Your Münster-Wein-Bächle-Genießer-Green-City


Go to all hotels in all cities

My favorite hotel in Freiburg is...

Do you know Freiburg?

Freiburg city trip: visit the jewel of the Black Forest

Vacation in Freiburg

Freiburg in Breisgau is known as the sunny pearl of Baden-Württemberg; besides its lovely weather, the city is known above all for the Münster Cathedral, the University, and its vineyards. Locals and tourists alike prize the outstanding liveability of the city, which is primarily due to its many parks, tree-lined city streets, and green areas.

Freiburg’s most important attractions

Freiburg’s Münster Cathedral, one of the oldest churches in Europe, is famous around the world. Tourists who climb the steps to the top of the tower will be rewarded with a breathtaking view of the city. Every morning, a market is held on the square around the Münster, offering plenty of fresh products from around the region. Münsterplatz also has plenty of other culinary delights to offer, such as the famous “Lange Rote” (Long Red), a sausage specialty, or the great wine bar at the historic Alte Wache. Münsterplatz is surrounded both by historic buildings such as the deep red Historischen Kaufhaus (Historic Merchant’s Hall) or the Kornhaus, and by typical Freiburg Bächle, small runnels of water which run through the city. These small canals are seen as historic symbols of the city. The saying goes that if you accidentally step into one of these channels, you will marry a man or woman from Freiburg later in life.

Most of Freiburg’s historic city center was destroyed in the Second World War, but was rebuilt afterwards in a style true to the original. Miraculously, the Münster, the southeastern corner of the Münsterplatz, and the two remaining medieval city gates (the Schwabentor and the Martinstor) remained unharmed.

Thanks to the diverse green areas all over the city, Freiburg has plenty of relaxing oases to offer. Seven protected natural areas are found within the urban area alone, including Arlesheimer lake to the west of the city. Visitors who want to learn something new while they relax will enjoy a visit to the Botanical Garden.

Freiburg universities and museums

Among other universities, Freiburg houses one of the oldest and most highly renowned colleges in Germany with its Albert-Ludwigs-Universität, founded in 1457. The student scene is diverse and lively, and visitors can experience it at one of the many cafés and bars around the university. Tourists can get to know the history of the university in the Uniseum, a museum in the older section of the grounds.

The biggest museum in Freiburg is the Augustinermuseum, offering an impressive collection of artworks and cultural treasures that date from the Middle Ages to the 19th century. The Freiburg Nature Museum is also located on Augustinerplatz, and houses wide-ranging natural science and anthropological collections.

Black Forest excursions

The Black Forest near Freiburg invites guests to hike or take a pleasant day trip. One favorite destination are the ruins of medieval Zähringer Castle, of which only a crenellated turret with viewing platform remains today. Tackling one of the many hiking paths through the Black Forest opens up new and rewarding views of Freiburg.

PrivateCityHotels. in Freiburg

Get to know the best side of the green city of Freiburg in Baden-Württemberg personally, and book your vacation at one of our PrivateCityHotels., or choose one of our hotels in Austria, Germany, or Switzerland.
Looking for the right gift? Give a vacation, redeemable in 14 European cities at over 50 hotels, as a gift or just to say thanks. Convenient online ordering through our gift certificate shop.


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.Update my browser now

×

PrivateCityHotels

Kaiserschützenstraße 1
A-5020 Salzburg

T: +49 9181.276 13 94
E: info@private-city-hotels.com

Freiburg

Wir präsentieren:

Ihre Münster-Wein-Bächle-Genießer-Green-City


Zu allen Hotels in allen Städten

Mein Wunschhotel in Freiburg ist...

Kennen Sie Freiburg?

Städtereise Freiburg: zu Besuch im Juwel des Schwarzwalds

Urlaub in Freiburg

Freiburg im Breisgau gilt als sonnige Perle Baden-Württembergs und ist neben seinem günstigen Wetter vor allem für sein Münster, seine Universität und seine Weinanbaugebiete bekannt. Einheimische und Touristen schätzen die hervorragende Lebensqualität der Stadt, die besonders den vielen Parkanlagen, Baumreihen und Grünflächen zu verdanken ist.

Freiburgs wichtigste Sehenswürdigkeiten

Weithin berühmt ist das Freiburger Münster, das zu den ältesten Kirchen Europas gehört. Wer die Stufen auf die Spitze des Turms erklimmt, wird mit einer atemberaubenden Aussicht über die Stadt belohnt. Jeden Morgen findet auf dem Platz rund um das Münster ein Markt mit vielen frischen Erzeugnissen aus der Region statt. Auch sonst hat der Münsterplatz so einige kulinarische Versuchungen zu bieten, wie etwa die berühmte „Lange Rote“ – eine Bratwurst-Spezialität – oder die tolle Weinbar in der historischen Alten Wache. Umrahmt wird der Münsterplatz nicht nur von geschichtsträchtigen Gebäuden, wie dem tiefroten Historischen Kaufhaus oder dem Kornhaus, sondern auch von den typischen Freiburger Bächle. Diese gehören zu den langjährigen, geschichtlichen Markenzeichen der Stadt. Man erzählt sich, tritt man aus Versehen in eine der Wasserrinnen, heiratet man später im Leben einen Freiburger oder eine Freiburgerin.

Freiburgs Altstadt wurde im Zweiten Weltkrieg stark zerstört und danach großteils originalgetreu wieder aufgebaut. Wie durch ein Wunder blieben das Münster, die Südostecke des Münsterplatzes sowie die beiden noch erhaltenen mittelalterlichen Stadttore (Schwaben- und Martinstor) unversehrt.

Dank seiner vielgestaltigen Begrünungen, auf die man in der gesamten Stadt stößt, hat Freiburg eine Menge an Erholungsflächen zu bieten. Allein sieben Naturschutzgebiete befinden sich im Stadtgebiet, darunter der Arlesheimer See westlich der Stadt. Wer Erholung mit Wissensgewinn verbinden möchte, ist wiederum im Botanischen Garten gut aufgehoben.

Universitätsstadt Freiburg und Museen

Neben einigen weiteren Hochschulen besitzt Freiburg mit der im Jahr 1457 gegründeten Albert-Ludwigs-Universität eine der ältesten und renommiertesten Hochschulen Deutschlands. Lebhaft und divers zeigt sich die Studentenszene, die sich etwa in den vielen Cafés und Kneipen rund um die Universität erleben lässt. Die Geschichte der Universität können Interessierte im Uniseum, einem Museum in der Alten Universität, nachvollziehen.

Das größte Museum Freiburgs ist das Augustinermuseum mit einer beeindruckenden Sammlung an Kunst- und Kulturexponaten, deren Datierungen vom Mittelalter bis ins 19. Jahrhundert reichen. Ebenfalls am Augustinerplatz liegt das Naturmuseum Freiburg, das umfangreiche natur-und völkerkundliche Sammlungen beherbergt.

Ausflugsziel Schwarzwald

In der Umgebung von Freiburg lockt der Schwarzwald zum Wandern und zu gemütlichen Ausflügen. Beliebtes Ziel ist die Ruine der mittelalterlichen Zähringer Burg, von der heute nur noch ein zinnenbewehrter Rundturm mit Aussichtsplattform erhalten ist. Auf den zahlreichen Wanderwegen durch den Schwarzwald eröffnen sich immer wieder lohnende Ausblicke auf Freiburg.

PrivateCityHotels. in Freiburg

Lernen Sie die schmucke Schönheit der grünen Stadt Freiburg in Baden-Württemberg mit eigenen Augen kennen und buchen Sie Ihren Urlaub in einem der PrivateCityHotels, oder wählen Sie eines unserer Hotels in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz.
Auf der Suche nach dem passenden Geschenk? Schenken Sie einen Urlaub, einzulösen in 14 Städten Europas in über 50 Hotels, als Geschenk oder Dankeschön. Bequem online bestellen über den Gutscheinshop.


Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser, um diese Website korrekt dazustellen.Den Browser jetzt aktualisieren

×

PrivateCityHotels

Kaiserschützenstraße 1
A-5020 Salzburg

T: +49 9181.276 13 94
E: info@private-city-hotels.com