Passau

We present:

Your baroque-cathedral-castle-city-of-three-rivers


Go to all hotels in all cities

My favorite hotel in Passau is...

Do you know Passau?

Passau city trip: visiting the “City of Three Rivers”

Smaller, yet the more elegant: Passau is a European city, festival city, baroque city, Roman city, Nibelungs city, university city, and has a lot to offer on all those levels. Everything remains though atmospheric and manageable thanks to not more than 50,000 inhabitants. The border town to Austria is coined by its unique situation: Passau is located right at the confluence of the rivers Danube, Inn, and Ilz and therefore also known as the “City of Three Rivers.”

Italian architecture in Germany

In Passau, it could happen that you forget for some moments in which country you are. With its partly steep narrow lanes, the cityscape of the historic center exudes in fact a large portion of Mediterranean flair. And not without reason: after the large city fire in the 17th century, Passau was reconstructed by Italian architects. Crooked passageways, romantic patios, decorated bays, carved gates, and hidden entrances invite to a stroll. On every corner, there is something new to discover: St. Stephen’s Cathedral, for instance, towering above the historic center, can be reached after a short ascent. Behind it, you’ll find Residenzplatz, one of the most beautiful baroque squares north of the Alps. Other highlights are the Venetian style town hall with the monumental paintings in its halls or the Romanesque Niedernburg church. There you’ll find the tomb of Blessed Gisela immortalized as Kriemhild in the Nibelungenlied allegedly written in Passau or the late 12th century frescos of the former St. Mary’s Church. Numerous other churches, generous palaces, and splendid patrician houses testify the outstanding importance of the city as seat of the once largest bishop’s see of the German Empire.

Three rivers – blessing and curse of an idyllic situation

The city’s fate is determined by the three rivers, which is both documented by the first settlement findings of the Celtic period and apparent from the innumerous flood marks in the lanes of the historic center. Regular inundations of the densely populated area are caused by the Inn’s and the Danube’s torrents of water coming directly or indirectly from the Alps and raising the river levels by several meters within a few hours. One cannot imagine these phenomena during a stroll to the conjunction point or the diverting „three-rivers-cruise” by ship. Instead of that, people enjoy the magnificent views of this city uniquely situated between the rivers.

History and art

Georgsberg, situated on the opposite bank of the Danube, is towered by Veste Oberhaus, one of the largest completely preserved medieval fortresses, through which Passau’s prince-archbishop strengthened his power acquired through salt trade. From there one enjoys a marvelous view over the crooked lanes of the old town lying at one’s feet. The castle itself accommodates one of the most beautiful museums of medieval history. On the Inn’s bank, there is the Roman Museum, built on the foundations of a former Roman castle; many exhibits testify Passau’s early settlement. And for friends of contemporary art, there is the MMK (Museum of Modern Art) with its changing exhibitions, accommodated in a lovingly renovated building complex of the 12th century, or the numerous small art galleries at picturesque Höllgasse.

PrivateCityHotels. in Passau

Are you now in the mood for a vacation in Passau? Discover the multi-faceted “City of Three Rivers” and its marvelous surroundings and book your vacation in one of the PrivateCityHotels. in Passau or select one of our hotels in Austria, Germany, and Switzerland. It’s a good choice when it is about a gift, too: choose a vacation gift voucher, redeemable in over 15 European cities and in more than 55 hotels, as a present or a thank-you – you can easily use our online voucher shop.

Passau

Wir präsentieren:

Ihre Barock-Dom-Burg-Dreiflüssestadt


Zu allen Hotels in allen Städten

Mein Wunschhotel in Passau ist...

Kennen Sie Passau?

Städtereise Passau: Zu Besuch in der Dreiflüssestadt

Kleiner, aber umso feiner: Passau ist Europastadt, Festspielstadt, Barockstadt, Römerstadt, Nibelungenstadt, Universitätsstadt und hat bei dem allem viel zu bieten. Dabei bleibt alles bei rund 50.000 Einwohnern trotzdem immer gemütlich und überschaubar. Die Grenzstadt zum Nachbarland Österreich wird geprägt durch ihre einzigartige Lage: Passau liegt am Zusammenfluss von Donau, Inn und Ilz und ist deshalb auch als „Dreiflüssestadt“ bekannt.

Italienische Baukunst in Deutschland

Gut möglich, dass Sie in Passau kurz vergessen, in welchem Land Sie sich befinden. Denn das Stadtbild der historischen Altstadt verströmt mit seinen bisweilen steil ansteigenden engen Gassen eine gute Portion mediterranes Flair. Nicht zufällig: Nach dem Stadtbrand im 17.Jahrhundert wurde Passau von italienischen Baumeistern wiedererrichtet. Verwinkelte Durchgänge, romantische Innenhöfe, verzierte Erker, geschnitzte Türen und versteckte Zugänge laden zum Bummeln ein. An jeder Ecke gibt es Neues zu entdecken: Den über der Altstadt thronenden Stephansdom beispielsweise erreichen Sie nach einem kurzen Aufstieg. Dahinter ist der Residenzplatz, einer der schönsten Barockplätze nördlich der Alpen. Weitere Highlights sind das im venezianischen Stil erbaute Rathaus mit den Monumentalgemälden in seinen Sälen oder die romanische Kirche Niedernburg. Dort finden Sie das Grab der im – angeblich in Passau geschriebenen – Nibelungenlied als Kriemhild verewigten Seligen Gisela oder die aus dem späten 12.Jahrhundert stammenden Fresken der früheren Marienkirche. Viele weitere Kirchen, großzügige Palais und prächtige Bürgerhäuser zeugen von der überragenden Bedeutung der Stadt als Sitz des einstmals größten Bistums des Deutschen Reichs.

Drei Flüsse – Fluch und Segen der idyllischen Lage

Bestimmend für die Stadt sind die aber drei Flüsse, was nicht nur durch die ersten Besiedlungsfunde aus der Keltenzeit belegt ist, sondern auch an den unzähligen Hochwassermarken in den Gassen der Altstadt erkannt werden kann. Regelmäßige Überflutungen des dicht besiedelten Gebiets entstehen durch die dann direkt oder indirekt aus den Alpen kommenden Wassermassen von Inn und Donau und lassen deren Pegel innerhalb weniger Stunden um mehrere Meter steigen. Diese Bilder kann man sich bei einem Spaziergang zum „Dreiflüsse-Eck“ oder bei der unterhaltsamen „Dreiflüsserundfahrt“, der Stadtrundfahrt mit dem Schiff, nicht vorstellen. Statt dessen genießt man da die herrlichen Ansichten der einzigartig zwischen den Flüssen gelegenen Stadt.

Geschichte und Kunst

Auf dem Georgsberg am gegenüberliegenden Donauufer thront die Veste Oberhaus, eine der größten weitgehend vollständig erhaltenen mittelalterlichen Burganlagen, mit der der Passauer Fürstbischof seine durch den Salzhandel erhaltene Macht festigte. Von dort hat man einen wunderbaren Ausblick auf die zu Füßen liegende verwinkelte Altstadt und in der Burg selbst gibt es eines der schönsten Museen zur mittelalterlichen Geschichte. Am Inn liegt das auf den Fundamenten eines Kastells der damaligen Zeit errichtete Römermuseum, in dem viele Exponate die frühe Besiedlung Passaus belegen. Und für Freunde der zeitgenössischen Kunst gibt es das in einem liebevoll restaurierten Gebäudekomplex des 12.Jahrhunderts angesiedelte Museum für Moderne Kunst (MMK) mit seinen wechselnden Ausstellungen oder die vielen kleinen Künstlergalerien in der malerischen Höllgasse.

PrivateCityHotels. in Passau

Lust bekommen auf einen Urlaub in Passau? Entdecken Sie die facettenreiche Dreiflüssestadt sowie ihre herrliche Umgebung und buchen Sie Ihren Urlaub in einem der PrivateCityHotels. in Passau, oder wählen Sie eines unserer Hotels in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz. Auch als Geschenkidee eine gute Wahl: Schenken Sie einen Urlaub, einzulösen in über 15 Städten Europas in mehr als 55 Hotels, als Geschenk oder Dankeschön – bequem online bestellen über unseren Gutscheinshop.