Do you know Salzburg?

Salzburg city trip: Between Mozart and modernity

Vacation in Mozart’s hometown on the northern edge of the Alps

Mozart’s hometown on the Salzach enchants visitors from all over the world with its unique historical architecture, charming castles, and a diverse range of cultural offerings. Arts and culture options range from the Salzburger Festspiele to jazz concerts and art museums.

Tourist attractions in Salzburg

Salzburg’s fascinating downtown stretches out on both sides of the Salzach river. The part of downtown on the left bank forms the oldest core of the city, and was named a UNESCO world heritage site in 1997 due to its unique collection of Baroque buildings. You will be able to visit many important sites here during your city trip, such as the Baroque Salzburg Cathedral and Mozartplatz square, which contains the Mozart memorial. Residenzplatz is an ornate forecourt between the residences of the Prince-Archbishop, known as the Alte Residenz (12th century), and the Neue Residenz (16th century). On Getreidegasse, Salzburg’s most famous shopping district decorated with traditional guild signs, visitors can get their shopping fix as they hunt for chic fashion or one of the countless souvenirs available. Mozart’s birth house is also located here, and exhibits historical instruments, documents, and many portraits of the composer. A visit to Mozart’s home makes a great addition to your trip, and houses exhibits on the history of the Mozart family. Mirabell castle and the lush Mirabell garden are also must-see attractions during your visit to Salzburg.

Hohensalzburg fortress

Salzburg’s downtown is surrounded by hills: Mönchsberg, with its fortress, and Kapuzinerberg, located on the other side of the Salzach. Visitors can reach Hohensalzburg fortress via elevator or by foot. The fortress was built in the 11th century, and is Europe’s largest castle complex. Besides an outstanding view of the city and surrounding countryside, you can also visit the interesting fortress museum and medieval prince’s chambers.

Boat ride to Hellbrunn castle

Experience another side of Salzburg by taking a pleasant boat ride on the Salzach, which comes down from the Alps to snake through the city. Your boat ride will take you to Hellbrunn castle at the southern edge of the city, which boasts water features and a few surprises too.

Top-level arts and culture city

Travelers who visit Salzburg in the summer will get the chance to attend a performance at the world-renowned Salzburger Festspiele. Besides works of Mozart, top-class operas, classical music, and plays are staged at the festival each July and August. Jazz and avant garde music are also common features on the Salzburg events calendar. Art lovers will also enjoy the city’s numerous museums and galleries, such as the Domquartier, the Residenz Gallery, or the Modern Museum.

Vacation at PrivateCityHotels. Salzburg

Select one of our PrivateCityHotels. in Salzburg for your stay in Mozart’s hometown. Hosts in our owner-operated city hotels in Austria design their hotels to be unique, personal, and hospitable. Book your vacation in Salzburg in a PrivateCityHotel. of your choice, or select one of our hotels in Austria, Germany, or Switzerland.
Looking for the right gift? Give a vacation, redeemable in 14 European cities at over 50 hotels, as a gift or just to say thanks. Convenient online ordering through our gift certificate shop.


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.Update my browser now

×

PrivateCityHotels

Kaiserschützenstraße 1
A-5020 Salzburg

T: +49 9181.276 13 94
E: info@private-city-hotels.com

Kennen Sie Salzburg?

Städtereise Salzburg: Zwischen Mozart und Moderne

Urlaub in der Mozartstadt am nördlichen Alpenrand

Die Mozartstadt an der Salzach entzückt seine Besucher aus aller Welt mit einzigartiger historischer Architektur, lieblichen Schlössern und einem abwechslungsreichen Kulturangebot. Angefangen bei den Salzburger Festspielen bis hin zu Jazzkonzerten und Kunstmuseen.

Sehenswürdigkeiten in Salzburg

Die bezaubernde Altstadt von Salzburg erstreckt sich zu beiden Seiten des Flusses Salzach. Den ältesten Kern der Stadt bildet die linke Altstadt, die wegen ihres einmaligen barocken Ensembles 1997 zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ernannt wurde. Hier treffen Sie während Ihrer Städtereise auf viele wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten, wie den barocken Salzburger Dom und den Mozartplatz mit dem Mozartdenkmal. Der Residenzplatz präsentiert sich als prunkvoller Vorplatz zwischen den fürsterzbischöflichen Residenzen, der Alten Residenz (12. Jahrhundert) und der Neuen Residenz (16. Jahrhundert). In der Getreidegasse, Salzburgs berühmtester Einkaufsstraße mit den typischen Zunftschildern, lässt sich der Shoppinglust frönen und schicke Mode ebenso wie unzählige Souvenirs erstehen. Hier befindet sich auch Mozarts Geburtshaus, wo unter anderem historische Instrumente, Urkunden und zahlreiche Porträts des Komponisten ausgestellt sind. Als Ergänzung bietet sich dazu ein Besuch in Mozarts Wohnhaus an, das die Stationen der Familie Mozart zeigt. Auch Schloss Mirabell und der prächtige Mirabellgarten gehören bei einem Besuch in Salzburg zum Pflichtprogramm.

Festung Hohensalzburg

Salzburgs Altstadt wird umrahmt von den Stadtbergen: dem Mönchsberg mit der Festung sowie dem auf der anderen Seite der Salzach liegenden Kapuzinerberg. Per Aufzug oder Fußweg gelangt man auf die Festung Hohensalzburg aus dem 11. Jahrhundert, Europas größte Burganlage. Neben einem herrlichen Ausblick auf Stadt und Land erwarten Sie dort das sehenswerte Festungsmuseum sowie die mittelalterlichen Fürstenzimmer.

Schifffahrt nach Schloss Hellbrunn

Von einer anderen Perspektive erleben Sie Salzburg auf einer gemütlichen Schiffsfahrt auf der Salzach, die sich von den Alpen kommend durch die Stadt schlängelt. Auf diesem Weg gelangen Sie auch zum Schloss Hellbrunn am südlichen Stadtrand, das mit seinen Wasserspielen einige Überraschungen bereithält.

Hochrangige Kunst- und Kulturstadt

Wer im Sommer nach Salzburg reist, hat Gelegenheit, eine der Vorstellungen bei den weltberühmten Salzburger Festspielen zu besuchen. Neben Mozart-Werken kommen bei dem Festival im Juli und August hochkarätige Opern, klassische Musik und Theaterstücke zur Aufführung. Auch Jazz und Avantgarde haben im Salzburger Veranstaltungskalender ihren festen Platz. Kunstliebhaber erfreuen sich außerdem an den zahlreichen Museen und Galerien, wie dem Domquartier, der Residenzgalerie oder dem Museum der Moderne.

Urlaub in den PrivateCityHotels. Salzburg

Wählen Sie eines der PrivateCityHotels. in Salzburg als Hotel für Ihren Aufenthalt in der Mozartstadt. Individuell, persönlich und herzlich verschönern die Gastgeber in den eigentümergeführten Stadthotels Ihren Urlaub in Österreich. Buchen Sie Ihren Urlaub in Salzburg in einem PrivateCityHotel Ihrer Wahl oder wählen Sie eines unserer Hotels in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz.
Auf der Suche nach dem passenden Geschenk? Schenken Sie einen Urlaub, einzulösen in 14 Städten Europas in über 50 Hotels, als Geschenk oder Dankeschön. Bequem online bestellen über den Gutscheinshop.


Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser, um diese Website korrekt dazustellen.Den Browser jetzt aktualisieren

×

PrivateCityHotels

Kaiserschützenstraße 1
A-5020 Salzburg

T: +49 9181.276 13 94
E: info@private-city-hotels.com