Graz

We present:

Your Murinsel-Glockenspiel-Uhrturm-Festivals-City-of-Design


Go to all hotels in all cities

My favorite hotel in Graz is...

Do you know Graz?

Graz city trip: southern charm in the heart of Styria’s natural landscape

City trip in a Styrian cultural center

The state capital of Styria attracts visitors who want to enjoy the southern charm of the area, as well as artists and art lovers, who value the former cultural capital of Europe for its many museums, historical buildings, and a lively festival scene. Numerous highlights, some historical and some more unusual, await you in this city on the Mur river, formerly home to the Habsburg dynasty.

Graz attractions: the highlights

As a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1999, the historic downtown of Graz enchants guests with countless delightful streets and squares in a variety of architectural styles. The clock tower of the Schlossburg is one of the city’s most striking features, and looks over the downtown area. Enjoy a wonderful view of the city from above as you get an up-close look at this square tower from the 13th century. From this perspective, you’ll notice how unique the clock’s face is, with hands whose sizes have been reversed. Graz Cathedral is also a popular attraction, one of the most important buildings in Styria. The Cathedral dates back to the 15th century, and once served as the court church of the Holy Roman Empire. The artistically decorated interior impresses visitors with its late gothic frescoes, a splendid Baroque altar, and two sumptuous shrines from the early Renaissance.

We recommend taking an excursion from downtown to the Dom im Berg, whose over six kilometer long tunnel system from the Second World War today serves as an event location for a variety of shows and cultural happenings. Check out the diverse events held there during your short vacation in Graz.

City stroll with a southern flair

The Herrengasse, a lively pedestrian and shopping area, stretches between Jakominiplatz and Hauptplatz. Besides numerous stores, restaurants, cafés, and open-air restaurants, the area is also home to many historic attractions. Marvel at the arcade court of the Landhaus in Renaissance style, which today houses the Styrian Armory, the Gemalte Haus (Painted house), and the Graz parish church. The adjacent Hauptplatz is dominated by Graz Town Hall, which has a castle-like design

Cultural capital, museums, and City of Design

Graz became Austria’s first European Cultural Capital in 2003. Some of the attractions built that year still enrich the city landscape, such as the Graz Art House, dubbed the “friendly alien,” which has a futuristic design that’s hard to miss. The museum displays innovative exhibits of modern art and photography. As the City of Design in 2011, Graz solidified its reputation as one of the most dynamic creative locations in Europe. This is clear from the city’s lively urban culture, which finds expressions in modern architecture, innovative shops, art, and design in public spaces, and unique festivals. You should also visit one or two of Graz’s excellent museums, such as the GrazMuseum with exhibits on the history and culture of Graz, majestic Eggenberg Castle, or the Künstlerhaus Graz on the Burgring.

Be our guest at PrivateCityHotels. Graz

Look forward to an exciting sightseeing excursion to the city of Graz, and treat yourself to a stay with your hosts at our PrivateCityHotels. Each of our privately owned hotels has its own unique personality. Book your vacation in Graz in a PrivateCityHotel. of your choice, or select one of our hotels in Austria, Germany, or Switzerland.
Looking for the right gift? Give a vacation, redeemable in 14 European cities at over 50 hotels, as a gift or just to say thanks. Convenient online ordering through our gift certificate shop.


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.Update my browser now

×

PrivateCityHotels

Kaiserschützenstraße 1
A-5020 Salzburg

T: +49 9181.276 13 94
E: info@private-city-hotels.com

Graz

Wir präsentieren:

Ihre Murinsel-Glockenspiel-Uhrturm-Festivals-City-of-Design


Zu allen Hotels in allen Städten

Mein Wunschhotel in Graz ist...

Kennen Sie Graz?

Städtereise Graz: südlicher Charme im Herzen der grünen Steiermark

Stadturlaub in der steirischen Kulturstadt

Die Landeshauptstadt der Steiermark zieht Genießer des südlichen Flairs ebenso an, wie Künstler und Kulturliebhaber, die an der einstigen Kulturhauptstadt Europas die vielen Museen, historischen Bauwerke und die lebhafte Festivalszene schätzen. Unzählige Highlights, nicht nur der historischen, sondern auch der außergewöhnlichen Sorte, erwarten Sie in der Stadt an der Mur, die einst Residenz der Habsburger war.

Grazer Sehenswürdigkeiten: die Highlights

Seit 1999 UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe, bezaubert die Altstadt von Graz mit unzähligen verspielten Gassen und Plätzen und unterschiedlichsten Architekturstilen. Als markanteste Sehenswürdigkeit blickt der Uhrturm vom Schlossberg auf die Altstadt herab. Genießen Sie von oben eine wunderbare Aussicht auf die Stadt und betrachten Sie den vierkantigen Turm aus dem 13. Jahrhundert aus der Nähe – dann fällt die Besonderheit auf den Ziffernblättern auf, wo die Zeiger in ihrer Größe vertauscht sind. Zu den beliebtesten Sehenswürdigkeiten zählt darüber hinaus der Grazer Dom, eines der bedeutendsten Bauwerke der Steiermark. Die Kathedrale geht auf das 15. Jahrhundert zurück und diente zu jener Zeit als Hofkirche der römisch-deutschen Kaiser. Das kunstvolle Innere beeindruckt mit spätgotischen Fresken, einem prachtvollen barocken Hochaltar und zwei kostbaren Reliquienschreinen aus der Frührenaissance.

Von der Altstadt aus empfiehlt sich ein Abstecher in den Dom im Berg, dessen mehr als sechs Kilometer langes Stollensystem aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg heute als Veranstaltungsort für diverse Events und Ausstellungen dient. Werfen Sie während Ihres Kurzurlaubs in Graz einen Blick in das abwechslungsreiche Programm.

Stadtbummel mit südlichem Flair

Als lebendige Flanier- und Shoppingmeile der Altstadt erstreckt sich die Herrengasse zwischen Jakominiplatz und Hauptplatz. Neben den zahlreichen Geschäften, Restaurants, Cafés und Gastgärten befinden sich hier viele historische Attraktionen. Bewundern Sie den Arkadenhof des Landhauses im Renaissance-Stil, das heute unter anderem das Landeszeughaus beherbergt, sowie das Gemalte Haus und die Grazer Stadtpfarrkirche. Der angrenzende Hauptplatz wird vom schlossartigen Grazer Rathaus dominiert.

Kulturhauptstadt, Museen und City of Design

Im Jahr 2003 wurde Graz zur ersten Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt Österreichs. Einige der damals errichteten Attraktionen bereichern noch heute die Stadt, so etwa das „friendly alien“ getaufte Kunsthaus Graz, dessen futuristische, blaue Gestalt nicht zu übersehen ist. Das Museum zeigt innovative Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst und Fotografie. Als City of Design festigt Graz seit 2011 seinen Ruf als einem der dynamischsten Kreativstandorte in ganz Europa. Davon zeugt seine lebendige urbane Kultur, die in moderner Architektur, innovativen Shops, Kunst und Design im öffentlichen Raum und besonderen Festivals ihre kreativen Ausdrucksformen findet. Besuchen Sie auch das eine oder andere der sehenswerten Museen von Graz, wie etwa das GrazMuseum zur Geschichte und Kultur von Graz, das prächtige Schloss Eggenberg oder das Künstlerhaus Graz am Burgring.

Zu Gast in den PrivateCityHotels. Graz

Freuen Sie sich auf einen erlebnisreichen Sightseeing- und Kultururlaub in der Stadt Graz und lassen Sie sich von den herzlichen Gastgebern der PrivateCityHotels. verwöhnen. Jedes der privat geführten Hotels besitzt seine individuelle Persönlichkeit. Buchen Sie Ihren Urlaub in Graz in einem PrivateCityHotel Ihrer Wahl oder wählen Sie eines unserer Hotels in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz.
Auf der Suche nach dem passenden Geschenk? Schenken Sie einen Urlaub, einzulösen in 14 Städten Europas in über 50 Hotels, als Geschenk oder Dankeschön. Bequem online bestellen über den Gutscheinshop.


Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser, um diese Website korrekt dazustellen.Den Browser jetzt aktualisieren

×

PrivateCityHotels

Kaiserschützenstraße 1
A-5020 Salzburg

T: +49 9181.276 13 94
E: info@private-city-hotels.com